Lots of New Visitors: Hello!

There has been an influx of new readers lately, a lot of you connecting with my blog through the Slate article by Vanessa Vitiello Urquhart that I was quoted in.

For the benefit of the new folks, here’s a little about me…

I’m married with children, living with my wife of 22 years (legal for 2) and our two daughters (kindergarden and high school).

I have a steady girlfriend/boyfriend/partner of many talents who recently moved up to Olympia.  She has become a part of my family and it is my great joy that she and my wife get along so well.

For pay, I write proposals for my technical consulting company. I used to be a software developer and moved into this work when I was between contracts. That was over a year ago and now my company relies on me to bring in work for everyone and I don’t go out on consulting gigs myself any more.  It’s sometimes triumphant, sometimes frustrating, always challenging.  The best part is that I can determine my own schedule and work from home (or various locations downtown) part of the time and from our office part of the time.

My passions are writing, social activism and learning more about everything.  I’ve said before that I will happily sit and listen to a talk or presentation by a passionate, energetic speaker, regardless the topic.  It’s true, I’m a sponge for learning.  I also love deep, engaging, smart conversations with passionate people.  And long walks on the beach.

I write erotica, mostly short stories, and am floundering with my first novel.  I’m so comfortable with the short story format that it feels like my native way of telling stories.  Pushing that into a longer format is a challenge, and I’m seeking mentors for working through it.

I write short pieces for submission to online magazines, some have been published others are awaiting editing/rewrites.  I have a short erotic story in an anthology to be published in August and I’m working on one to submit to another anthology.

I enjoy gardening, both because I love being able to grow food for my family and for the therapeutic benefits of being outside working in the dirt.  It makes my heart and soul happy.

I identify as butch, trans* and genderqueer.  I do not identify with the gender binary, neither man nor woman but rather a combination of them.  I’ve been taking testosterone for 10 months and have a lot more hair on my chest, face, shoulders and back.  My voice has gotten lower.  I’m learning how to sing new songs with my new voice.

If you’ve come here after reading a Slate article I was quoted in, or one of my SimplySxy posts, or from anywhere really, feel free to ask questions about what you’ve read.  I’m open to respectful questions via comment or email:  kyle at butchtastic dot net.

Thanks for visiting.

This content is published under the Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported license.

This entry was posted in community, site news and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *